BC Barrel Racers Association Agenda Annual General Meeting July 29, 2016 Trail Riders Arena, Williams Lake, BC

Attendance Sheet Circulated 60 members in attendance 34 less than September 4, 2015

Housekeeping from Kelli: Thanks to you all for helping out. No dogs in the stands. No loose dogs on the grounds. Bridget asked all to put their garbage in the big open bin. Manure: leave the manure in the stock pen, in the 10 x 10 pens keep the manure 2 feet from the fence once we leave they will harrow it into the field. Self-penning use the piles.

Call Meeting to Order 7:28 pm

Motion: Approval of Agenda Kelli Pozzobon/Judy Hyde M/S AIF Carried

Motion: Approve September 4, 2015 minutes as read by Nora Wallach. Jennifer Cody/Lynette Spenst M/S AIF Carried

Treasurers Report – Joyce Pifer Money in the bank is \$90,148.29. This year was a month shorter because of the date change. Last year's finals cost the BCBRA \$7,089.50 as per Income Statement. Net Income August 1, 2015 to June 30,2016 as per Income Statement \$6,662.16. Debbie Roch asked about the bank balance of \$89,050.98 and was told by Joyce that no final expenses have come out of this amount. The BCBRA is looking into a data base program to help producers have more access and streamline online postings of the results. Cost could be as high as \$10,000.00. **Motion**: Accept treasures report as presented. Joyce Pifer/Cindy Mussell M/S AIF Carried

Motion: Must be a member in good standing for a period of 12 consecutive months before you can run for a Directors Position. Kellie Pozzobon/Joyce Pifer M/S AIF Carried

Election of Directors -President – Kelli Pozzobon by acclamation Vice President – Chantelle Prentice by acclamation, nominated Debbie Roch - declined Treasurer - Joyce Pifer by acclamation, nominated Shelly Black -declined Secretary – Melisa Rosette by acclamation Circuit Secretary – Debbie Roch by acclamation Awards Director – Sandy Zayachkowski by acclamation, nominated Juanita Borsteinas – declined, conflict husband's job News Letter Director – Abby MacNeish by acclamation Northern/Membership Director – Bridget Rosette by acclamation Okanagan Director – Chelsea Plecas by acclamation Vancouver Island Director – Kathleen Worth by acclamation Central Director – Juanita Borsteinas by acclamation Costal Director - Cindy Mussell by acclamation Sponsorship Director – Karen Yaworski by acclamation Senior Director – Dennis Gunn by acclamation, nominated Jacquie McNeil - declined Motion: Junior Director Title changed to East/West Kootney Director Kelli Pozzobon/Darcy Woods M/S AIF Carried East/West Kootney Director – Shelley Black Director w/o Portfolio Frances Herring by vote, nominated Judy Hyde and Frances Herring

Kelli thanked all the directors leaving for all their hard work and welcomed the new directors to the board.

Old Business

1) Kelli Pozzobon - Lynn Dent-Wilson Motion 2015: The wording under Membership #1 - The Board of Directors may refuse membership to any person without just cause or reason, be changed.

Kelli has been in contact with Mary MacGregor a lawyer in Kamloops about Lynn Dent Wilson's motion above. The advice from the lawyer was that our wording is ok unless it was a safety issue or you are being personal or discriminating. The lawyer did say that we had some bylaws showing up in our rules and both rules and bylaws should be reviewed in the not too distant future.

New Business

1) Melisa Rosette – **Motion**: Change the days required for race submission from 14 days notice to 7 days. Melisa explained that CBR has a 7 day rule and we lost at least 3 races to them because of our wait time. Melisa Rosette/Shawna Leblanc M/S AIF Carried. **Rule book change**

2) Kelli Pozzobon - Membership card must be produced at the races you are entering, or a picture of the membership card on your phone or email the card to the producer with your entries filled in or you will be charged a non-member fee.

3) Kelli Pozzobon – Members attending a race where BCBRA secondary the ONUS is on the member to produce your membership card and pay the \$3.00 approval fees. This year you will automatically be put on the ineligible list and will not be able to enter races until your approval fees have been paid up.

4) Kelli Pozzobon – Race producers who do not have their paper work and money in correctly within the 2 week period allotted in the rules will be fined \$25.00 and their name will appear on the ineligible list.

All members need to read, understand and abide by the rules of our organization.

5) **Motion:** Horses must run in the order they are drawn at any sanctioned or co-sanctioned BCBRA Races. Bridget Rosette/Coulter Gould M/S AIF Carried

6) Kelli Pozzobon - Finals Venue for the next two years 2017 and 2018 at the Williams Lake Stampede Grounds on the last weekend of July each year.

Helmet Draw Winners – Awarded Friday night

Pee Wee Winner - Sidney Renaud - sponsored by Sutton Cariboo Realty

Junior Winner - Gracie Antoine - sponsored by Johnson Meier Insurance

Open Winner – Amy Hume - sponsored by Amber's Country Tack and Shop

Senior Winner - Sandy Zayachkowski - sponsored by Western Financial Group

Open Buckle Winners – Awarded Friday night

1D Judy Hyde 16.157, 2D coulter Gould 16.678, 3D Tracey Morris 17.173, 4D Jennifer Rempel 18.168

Early Bird Draw Winners: Amanda Fitchett \$75.00, Tori Cheyne \$50.00, Terri Farmer \$25.00

Motion: Adjourn meeting at 8:53 pm Kelli Pozzobon/Nora Wallach M/S AIF Carried

-